RankingMAI-Thinking-1

MAI-Thinking-1

Data updated 12 Sept 2026

18 published benchmark measures · 9 benchmark families contribute across 4 task areas. 2 capability estimates available in the full profile. See all results ↓ · Compare published benchmarks →

Model evidence summary

Choose a configuration

A model-wide score would mix effort settings. This page summarizes published evidence; only identified configurations receive leaderboard ranks.

Compare measured configurations →

The capability chart summarizes evidence across reported settings, not a runnable configuration or a leaderboard rank.

Performance profile

Capabilities

Adjusted comparison score · 0–100
MAI-Thinking-1 capability radarComparison scores from 0 to 100. Unknown capabilities have no point; lines stop at gaps. Hollow points are preliminary. Exact values and support labels follow the chart.AgenticHard reasoningCodingHuman prefKnowledgeMultimodalLong context50100MAI-Thinking-1 · Hard reasoning: 9.0 · SupportedMAI-Thinking-1 · Coding: 1.3 · Supported

Filled points are supported; hollow points are preliminary. Lines stop at unknown capabilities. Exact values and sources follow below.

AgenticNo comparable evidenceUnknown

0 core families; 0 direct opponents across 0 labs. No admitted core comparisons

Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

Refit without one family: No supported estimate; 11/11 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: No supported estimate; 15/15 unsupported. Smoothing check: No supported estimate; 3/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

Audit: family and publisher holdouts improved on neutral predictions within evaluated coverage; source sensitivity still requires inspection. Validation audit.

Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

    Hard reasoning2 families · 0 with independent evidence · Supported9.0

    2 core families; 5 direct opponents across 4 labs.

    Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

    Refit without one family: 6.7–12.8; 2/7 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: 5.7–21.9; 1/16 unsupported. Smoothing check: 3.2–21.0; 0/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

    Audit: family and publisher holdouts improved on neutral predictions within evaluated coverage. Validation audit.

    Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

    Coding3 families · 0 with independent evidence · Supported1.3

    3 core families; 5 direct opponents across 4 labs.

    Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

    Refit without one family: 0.9–9.3; 2/7 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: 0.7–7.9; 1/20 unsupported. Smoothing check: 0.4–5.1; 0/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

    Audit: family and publisher holdouts improved on neutral predictions within evaluated coverage. Validation audit.

    Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

    • LiveCodeBench: 0.0 observed win share
      Microsoft · Source 1
    • SWE-bench Pro: 0.0 observed win share
      Microsoft · Source 1
    • SWE-bench Verified: 0.0 observed win share
      Microsoft · Source 1
    Human prefNo comparable evidenceUnknown

    0 core families; 0 direct opponents across 0 labs. No admitted core comparisons

    Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

    Refit without one family: No supported estimate; 1/1 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: No supported estimate; 1/1 unsupported. Smoothing check: No supported estimate; 3/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

    Audit: cross-family and cross-publisher predictions could not be evaluated from the available comparison network. Validation audit.

    Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

      Knowledge2 families · 0 with independent evidence · PreliminaryUnknown

      2 core families; 1 direct opponents across 1 labs. No connected comparison to the complete reference panel

      Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

      Refit without one family: No supported estimate; 4/4 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: No supported estimate; 5/5 unsupported. Smoothing check: No supported estimate; 3/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

      Audit: almost no publisher-held-out comparisons remained estimable. Cross-source validity is unresolved. Validation audit.

      Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

      • MMLU-Pro: 0.0 observed win share
        Microsoft · Source 1
      • Simpleqa Verified: 100.0 observed win share
        Microsoft · Source 1
      MultimodalNo comparable evidenceUnknown

      0 core families; 0 direct opponents across 0 labs. No admitted core comparisons

      Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

      Refit without one family: No supported estimate; 8/8 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: No supported estimate; 8/8 unsupported. Smoothing check: No supported estimate; 3/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

      Audit: limited publisher-held-out coverage. Cross-source validity is unresolved. Validation audit.

      Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

        Long context2 families · 0 with independent evidence · PreliminaryUnknown

        2 core families; 1 direct opponents across 1 labs. No connected comparison to the complete reference panel

        Estimated against the same complete panel: gpt-5.6-sol claude-opus-4-8 gemini-3.1-pro . Indirect comparisons assume performance can be summarized by one strength within this capability.

        Refit without one family: No supported estimate; 5/5 scenarios unsupported. Without one publisher: No supported estimate; 5/5 unsupported. Smoothing check: No supported estimate; 3/3 unsupported. These are sensitivity checks, not confidence intervals.

        Audit: family and publisher holdouts underperformed neutral predictions. Treat this as an exploratory estimate. Validation audit.

        Matched family win shares below describe source evidence; they are not averaged to produce the adjusted score.

        • Graphwalks: 0.0 observed win share
          Microsoft · Source 1
        • Longbench: 0.0 observed win share
          Microsoft · Source 1

        Scores estimate outcomes against a shared reference panel; they are not accuracy percentages. Sparse or disconnected evidence cannot qualify an overall profile. Open a capability to inspect its evidence.

        Compare available effort levels across 0 benchmark/harness combinations →

        Reported effort · Not specified

        Settings reported in this model's published benchmark results, including results outside the aggregate. Effort names are provider-specific. These are not API defaults or equal compute budgets.

        Mixed settings means multiple settings occur in the evidence. Best across efforts means the source selected its best reported result across settings; it does not mean Max. Unspecified settings stay unknown. This model-summary chart combines reported settings. The leaderboard keeps identified configurations separate and excludes unknown effort.

        Inspect each result and its source ↓ · Download effort evidence

        Compare capability profiles →

        Score contributions and missing evidence

        9 contributing families across 4 capabilities. Fixed reference panels do not change when the catalog expands.

        Capability is fitted jointly across families. Capability estimates below describe different task areas; their weighted sum is not the Capability score.

        Results without reviewed compatibility or a reference match remain in the raw evidence below. Coverage counts only contributing results.

        Model information & shareable badge
        Lab
        Microsoft
        Catalog status
        preview
        Availability
        Microsoft Foundry public preview
        Family
        MAI
        Released
        Context
        License
        proprietary
        Model card
        https://microsoft.ai/models/mai-thinking-1/
        Default Capability family coverage
        Documented-evidence family coverage/badge/mai-thinking-1.svg
        Benchmark scores & sources

        Original results, evaluation harnesses, and evidence behind this model.

        BenchmarkBucketScoreHarnessEvidenceSource-recorded date
        AdvancedIF rubric-level · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence85%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        AIME 2025 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedHard reasoning97%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        AIME 2026 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedHard reasoning94.5%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        BFCL v3 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence72%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        CorpusQA · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence82%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        GPQA Diamond · source release snapshot; version not specifiedHard reasoning84.2%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        GraphWalks <=128k · source release snapshot; version not specifiedLong context90%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        HealthBench Professional · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence35%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        HMMT February 2026 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence84.9%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        IF Bench · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence69%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        LiveCodeBench v6 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedCoding87.7%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        LongBenchV2 · source release snapshot; version not specifiedLong context61%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        MedXpertQA · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence43%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        MMLU Pro · source release snapshot; version not specifiedKnowledge85%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        MultiChallenge · source release snapshot; version not specifiedSupporting evidence53%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Supporting evidence outside the reviewed capability core

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        SimpleQA Verified · source release snapshot; version not specifiedKnowledge31%
        Reported settings & source

        Microsoft own evaluation suite; Sonnet max reasoning; Tables 12/19. LongBenchV2 capped 256k,408 questions; CorpusQA GPT-5.4 high judge; 4 runs.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Tables 12 and 19 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        SWE-bench Pro · source release snapshot; version not specifiedCoding52.8%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        SWE-bench Verified · source release snapshot; version not specifiedCoding73.5%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        contributes to capability
        lab self-reportReviewed 2026-09-06
        Terminal-Bench 2.0 · 2.0Coding46%
        Reported settings & source

        MAI avg 4 runs, temperature 1, top-p .97; simple ReAct bash/string-replace; Terminal-Bench ignores predefined timeouts. Comparator configurations from cited reports.

        First-party reported result; comparator results retain the source evaluation setup.

        MAI-Thinking-1 technical report · Table 11, PDF page 53 · reviewed 2026-09-06

        Published configuration

        Effort: Not specified

        lab self-report

        Microsoft report Table 11 and section 4.1: MAI Terminal-Bench removes timeouts and uses a minimal ReAct harness; comparator values are cited from other model releases. A common evaluation protocol is not established.

        Reviewed 2026-09-06
        ARC-AGI-2Hard reasoning
        DeepSWE v1.1Agentic
        GDPval-AAAgentic
        GPQA DiamondHard reasoning
        Humanity's Last ExamHard reasoning
        LiveCodeBenchCoding
        LMArena Text ArenaHuman pref
        MMLU-ProKnowledge
        OSWorld-VerifiedAgentic
        SWE-bench ProAgentic
        SWE-bench VerifiedAgentic
        Terminal-Bench 2.1Agentic